Diaper Week: 20% off cloth diapers, applied at checkout. Ends Sunday November 8. | Free standard shipping across Canada on orders $150+

Cloth Diaper Rebates and Grants in Eastern Ontario

on October 18, 2026

Several municipalities east of Ottawa help families with the cost of cloth diapers, usually with a grant of up to $200. Each program has its own rules, deadlines and a limited number of grants. Below is what each municipality's own web page says.

Before you buy, confirm current eligibility and available funds with your municipality. We copied each program from the municipality's official page on October 18 2026. Programs change, funds run out and pages get updated, so the municipality always has the final word. PlanetBaby does not run or decide any of these programs.

Quick comparison

Municipality Amount Grants per year Minimum purchase Program year shown on the page
Township of Russell $200 Up to 10 20 new washable diapers No year named (“the current year”)
City of Clarence-Rockland $200 Up to 10 families 20 cloth diapers No year named
The Nation Municipality $200 per child 20 20 diapers or inserts No year named (policy approved June 28 2021, funded each year)
Township of Alfred and Plantagenet $200 5 20 cloth diapers Application form lists January 1 to December 31 2026
Township of East Hawkesbury Up to $200 Not stated Not stated No year named

Township of Russell

  • Amount: up to 10 grants of $200 each year.
  • Eligibility (as stated by the Township): you live in the Township; your child is under 6 months old, or you are pregnant, as of January 1; you use washable diapers from birth until potty training; you buy at least 20 new washable diapers during the calendar year.
  • Documents: proof of residence (such as a driver's licence, lease or hydro bill), the original invoice for at least 20 new washable diapers, and proof of your child's birth such as a birth certificate (pregnant applicants can send it after the birth).
  • Deadlines: apply before December 31 of the current year; send the documents within the first six months after the birth.
  • How to apply: online form with documents attached, or a paper form from the Infrastructure Department dropped off at Town Hall.
  • Official page: Township of Russell, Diaper Grant Program
  • As listed on October 18 2026: the page does not name a program year; it refers to “the current year”. Confirm current eligibility and funds with the Township before you buy.

City of Clarence-Rockland

  • Amount: $200 back, for up to 10 families per year.
  • Eligibility (as stated by the City): you live in Clarence-Rockland; you have a child born between January 1 and December 31; you use cloth diapers from birth until potty training; you buy at least 20 cloth diapers. The application form also asks you to agree to use the cloth diapers bought under the program.
  • Documents (application form): proof of residence, a copy of the invoice or receipt for at least 20 cloth diapers, and a copy of the birth certificate.
  • Deadline: submit the documents within the first 6 months after the birth.
  • How to apply: online application form.
  • Official page: City of Clarence-Rockland, Cloth Diaper Grant Program
  • Application form: City of Clarence-Rockland, Cloth Diaper Grant Program Application
  • As listed on October 18 2026: the page does not name a program year. Confirm current eligibility and funds with the City before you buy.

The Nation Municipality

  • Amount: $200 per child, per purchase of 20 diapers. Families with twins who buy a set of 20 for each child can receive two grants. The policy funds 20 grants per year.
  • Eligibility (as stated in the policy): you live in The Nation; your baby is under 6 months old; you buy at least 20 diapers or inserts. Used diapers count only with valid store receipts.
  • Documents: a completed and signed application form, the baby's birth certificate or proof of birth, proof of residency (such as a valid driver's licence or recent utility bill), and valid store receipts for the 20 diapers.
  • Deadline: apply within 6 months of the baby's birth.
  • How to apply: the policy page does not say how to submit the form; contact Town Hall (958 Route 500 West, Casselman; 613-764-5444).
  • Official page: The Nation Municipality, Washable Diaper Grants
  • As listed on October 18 2026: policy AD-2021-01, approved June 28 2021, with the grants budgeted each year; no program year is named. Confirm current eligibility and funds with the Municipality before you buy.

Township of Alfred and Plantagenet

  • Amount: the Township offers 5 grants of $200 each year.
  • Eligibility (application form): between January 1 and December 31 2026 you have a child under 6 months old or are pregnant; you live in the Township; you use cloth diapers from birth until potty training; you buy at least 20 cloth diapers.
  • Documents: an agreement contract, proof of residence (such as a tax account, hydro bill or lease), the original invoice for at least 20 cloth diapers, and the child's birth certificate (you can send it later if you apply while pregnant).
  • Deadlines: sign up before December 31 2026; send the documents within the first six months after the birth.
  • How to apply: online application form.
  • Official pages: Township of Alfred and Plantagenet, Washable Diaper Grants and the online application form
  • As listed on October 18 2026: the application form shows 2026 dates (its title reads “2025 -2”). With 5 grants a year, confirm current eligibility and funds with the Township before you buy.

Township of East Hawkesbury

  • Amount: the Township reimburses cloth diapers bought, with or without related accessories, up to a maximum of $200.
  • Eligibility (as stated by the Township): you live in East Hawkesbury; you buy cloth diapers (new, according to the online form), with or without related accessories, during the year; you send the required documents.
  • Documents: proof of residence (such as a driver's licence, lease or electricity bill), the original invoices for the cloth diapers, and proof of the baby's birth (birth certificate).
  • Deadline: apply before December 31.
  • How to apply: online form, or email the application form and documents to the Township as described on its page; questions to the municipal office at 613-674-2170, ext. 1002.
  • Official pages: Township of East Hawkesbury, Cloth Diapers Program and the online form
  • As listed on October 18 2026: the page does not name a program year or the number of grants. Confirm current eligibility and funds with the Township before you buy.

Ottawa and other nearby municipalities

  • City of Ottawa: we did not find a City of Ottawa cloth diaper rebate on October 18 2026. Check ottawa.ca or call 3-1-1 if you want to be sure.
  • Other towns: if your municipality is not listed, check its website (search “cloth diaper”, “washable diaper” or “couches lavables”) or call the municipal office. We add programs here only when they appear on an official municipal page.

Tips before you buy

  1. Confirm first. Call or email your municipality to check the program is open and funds remain. Most programs fund a set number of families each year.
  2. Check the minimum. Most programs ask for at least 20 diapers. Read whether inserts, accessories or used diapers count.
  3. Keep the original invoice. Ask your municipality whether an online order confirmation is accepted as the invoice. Whether a purchase qualifies is always the municipality's decision.
  4. Watch the dates. Several programs tie deadlines to your baby's birth (often within 6 months) or to December 31.

Our AI2 diaper bundles and newborn AI2 diapers come in packs of 3, 6, 12 and 24 diapers, and you can browse everything in our diapering collection. We ship within Canada.

Spotted a change to a program? Let us know at info@planetbaby.ca and we will update this page.

Frequently asked questions

Which eastern Ontario municipalities offer cloth diaper grants?

On October 18 2026 we found official program pages for the Township of Russell, the City of Clarence-Rockland, The Nation Municipality, the Township of Alfred and Plantagenet and the Township of East Hawkesbury. Confirm current eligibility and funds with your municipality before you buy.

How much is a cloth diaper grant in eastern Ontario?

The programs we found offer up to $200 per family or per child. Most fund a limited number of grants each year.

Does the City of Ottawa have a cloth diaper rebate?

We did not find a City of Ottawa cloth diaper rebate on October 18 2026. Check ottawa.ca or call 3-1-1 to be sure.

How many cloth diapers do I need to buy to qualify?

Most of the programs we found ask for at least 20 cloth diapers. Check your municipality's rules for whether inserts, accessories or used diapers count.

What documents do I need to apply?

Usually proof of residence, the original invoice for the diapers and your baby's birth certificate or proof of birth. Some programs also ask for a signed application or agreement.

BACK TO TOP